Northern Territory


Bus Services
Train Services
Air Services
Rental Car Hire
Campervan Hire

Nationwide Accommodation

Locations in Northern Territory:
Alice Springs
Ayers Rock
Kakadu National Park


Ayers Rock

The Northern Territory is a federal territory of Australia, occupying much of the centre of the mainland continent, as well as the central northern regions. It shares borders with Western Australia to the west, South Australia to the south and Queensland.

To the north, the territory is bordered by the Timor Sea, the Arafura Sea and the Gulf of Carpentaria. Despite its large area—over 1,349,129 square kilometres (520,902 sq mi), making it the third largest Australian federal division—it is sparsely populated. With a population of 223,100 it is the least populous division on the mainland.

The Northern Territory, stretching from the central coastline in the tropical north right down to the rugged Red Centre of Outback Australia. The glittering Arafura Sea laps its coastline while the rugged Outback spans its heart.

Vast regions of red-gold desert contrast with large areas of lush green rainforest, wetlands teeming with native Australian wildlife, spectacular waterfalls and stunning rock formations.

McDonald RangesDarwin, the state's capital, is the hub of the region and the gateway to a range of attractions within easy driving distance. National parks such as Kakadu and Litchfield reflect the Top End's changing seasonal moods with an array of untamed wilderness.

Central Australia is the heart of Australia - the Outback - and a holiday destination like no other. It's big in size, big on surprises and big on choice. There's the famous Ayers Rock/Uluru, Kings Canyon, Palm Valley, and the East and West MacDonnell Ranges, where you can make a cool escape from the heat in one of the many gorges or waterholes. 

Further north are the intriguing Devils Marbles. All these natural features are never too far from the pioneering towns of Alice Springs or Tennant Creek.